(03) 9455 0822 After Hours (existing clients only): (03) 9483 7940. Contact Palliative Care Advice on 1800 360 000 for general information  
0 Items

About Us

Banksia Palliative Care Service Inc.

Banksia Palliative Care Service (Banksia) Banksia is a not-for-profit organisation and the sole Victorian State Government funded community palliative care service for the 3 local government areas of Banyule, Nillumbik and Whittlesea.

Our services are provided at no cost to our clients and their carers.

For more than 30 years Banksia has provided free home based palliative care for children and adults living with a progressive terminal illness, supporting them in their homes and decreasing their need for hospital visits.

We define palliative care as client and family centred care, which is equitable, holistic, dynamic and inclusive, and enables people with a life-limiting illness to live their best life.

While we offer compassionate care for our clients, we also offer support for families and carers.  This includes support groups, walking groups, counselling, bereavement support and more.

Our Vision

Every person accesses and receives exceptional, personalised palliative care support at the right time, and in the right place.

Our Values

Excellence; Respect; Integrity; Collaboration.

We strive for excellence in everything that we do; we act with integrityrespect others always and our collaborations make us stronger and better…

Our Mission

To provide exceptional palliative care services that assure quality of life, dignity in death and support in bereavement.

Our service area

We provide services at no cost to an area of approximately 1,000 square kilometres in a high population growth corridor in Melbourne, with a diverse community of approximately 420,000 people.  These include the 3 local government areas – Banyule, Nillumbik and Whittlesea. Anyone in these areas with a life limiting illness has access to our services.

City of Banyule

Bellfield Briar Hill
Eltham North Greensborough
Heidelberg West Ivanhoe
Macleod (part) Montmorency
Viewbank Watsonia
Bundoora Eaglemont
Heidelberg Heidelberg Heights
Ivanhoe East Lower Plenty
Rosanna St Helena
Watsonia North Yallambie

 Nillumbik Shire

Arthurs Creek Bend of Islands
Diamond Creek Doreen (part of)
Greensborough Hurstbridge
Kinglake West North Warrandyte
St Andrews Panton Hill
Christmas Hill Cottles Bridge
Eltham Eltham North
Kangaroo Ground Kinglake (part)


City of Whittlesea

Bundoora Doreen (part of) Epping Epping North
Lalor Mernda Mill Park South Morang
Thomastown Whittlesea Township Beveridge (part) Donnybrook
Eden Park Humevale Kinglake West Wollert
Woodstock Yan Yean (part)